Problems with the new Arduino IDE 1.6

i downloaded the new Arduino IDE today, moved all my libraries to a safe place and ran the install. Regardless of what the instructions say the first thing the install does is to delete the old setup, including the library folder. When I tried to run the new IDE the splash screen was shown then it shut down.

I tried restarting the IDE several times with the same result. I uninstalled, then reinstalled, but the result was always the same. I looked online, but the only thing I could find were people talking about it not working in Linux, but I am using Windows 7.

I then renamed my Arduino Sketch Folder to Arduino_old, just in case that had something to do with it. This time the IDE started with a warning that the program could not find the sketch folder and was creating a new one. This time it opened up perfectly.

Now I started to copy my sketches back into the new Sketch folder, three at a time. Each time I restarted the IDE until eventually the IDE would not run. I looked inside the last three sketch folders and found one that contained a compressed (zip) file. I deleted the folder and the IDE started perfectly.

I can understand that the IDE checks the sketch folder before it starts, but it would be nice if the IDE warned before it simply shut down!

Leave a Reply

